Review: The Wolf of Wall Street (The Wolf Of Wall Street #1) by Jordan Belfort

522776

About The Wolf of Wall Street

By day he made thousands of dollars a minute. By night he spent it as fast as he could. From the binge that sank a 170-foot motor yacht and ran up a $700,000 hotel tab, to the wife and kids waiting at home and the fast-talking, hard-partying young stockbrokers who called him king, here, in Jordan Belfort’s own words, is the story of the ill-fated genius they called the Wolf of Wall Street. In the 1990s, Belfort became one of the most infamous kingpins in American finance: a brilliant, conniving stock-chopper who led his merry mob on a wild ride out of Wall Street and into a massive office on Long Island. It’s an extraordinary story of greed, power, and excess that no one could invent: the tale of an ordinary guy who went from hustling Italian ices to making hundreds of millions—until it all came crashing down.

My Review

NOT at all what I was expecting.  I was hoping to read of the rise and of course fall of Belfort. I wanted to know why he chose a crooked road, instead I was submerged into his hedonistic lifestyle with absolutely no remorse or apology.  I barely made it through all the F-bomb’s (and boy are there plenty, atomic explosion), all the sex, drugs and general bad behavior. Greed is ugly as Belfort demonstrates.  Such a shame an intelligent man chose to use his intellect nefariously, blatently deceiving people as he played a part in our economic downfall. I have no idea how a film was made based on the trash I read.  If I wasn’t a principled reader I would NEVER have finished the book. Thank goodness I didn’t spend hard earned money on this so called book, it was a gift, clearly the giver should demand a refund. All the people who rode the wave with Belfort….you are equally guilty and disgusting, good luck looking at yourself in the mirror daily. A book depicting, for some, money is the root of evil.

About Jordan Belfort289953

After graduating from American University, Jordan Belfort worked on Wall Street for ten years. He currently lives in Los Angeles with his two children.

Published September 25th 2007 by Bantam (first published September 2007)

5 thoughts on “Review: The Wolf of Wall Street (The Wolf Of Wall Street #1) by Jordan Belfort

    • If I receive book 2 as a gift….I’d pass. Wasted valuable reading time on his first mess. This guy is a piece of work, I sludged through the debauchery and I still feel dirty. Ugh! I have no idea how they made this trash into a movie, nothing but sex, drugs, profanity, and naughty behavior acros the board. I want his rise and fall but it ain’t gonna happen, pass on his books from this mistake on.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Geraldine! This book just wasn’t for me, you might feel differently. After what I read I asked myself 1000 times how on earth was this made into a movie??? All the sex, drugs, profanity and naughtiness makes for a rated X version. I didn’t see the movie and have no plans to. Maybe the movie was a lot better than the book, hope so, goodness knows I wasn’t a fan of the book. Different strokes for different folks. If you decide to read the book, please let me know your thoughts, I would be curious. Thanks fot stopping by and commenting.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

