Trio No 3

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/trio-no-three/

Trio No. 3
Today you can write about anything, in whatever genre or form, but your post must mention a dark night, your fridge, and tears (of joy or sadness; your call). Feel free to switch one ingredient if you have to (or revisit one from previous trio prompts).

It was a dark and stormy night. The tree branch scraping against the window like fingers on a blackboard. Restless, I try to get comfy but it’s useless, my cotton mouth demands relief. Upright, my bare feet hit the cold hardwood floor, clearing my head of cobwebs. I prattle to the kitchen, tug on the refrigerator door desperate for a drink. I grab a bottle of water, struggle with the cap, as always, before I chug the entire bottle. As I toss the empty water bottle in the trash, I maneuver too quickly and smack my shin into the edge of the kitchen cabinet. As I furiously rub my wound, shout an expletive, the tears pool in my eyes as my shin throbs. I hobble back to bed, pull the cool sheets up to my chin, silently plead the ache in my leg diminishes soon. The wind whispers, the tree branch still scraping the window as I close my eyes, desperate for a few hours sleep, murmuring my protest with natures elements. Sighing, I count sheep and imagine the size of the bruise appearing on my leg when I awake, my latest badge of honor.

One thought on “Trio No 3

  1. Pingback: Acrostic Poem / Poetry – “Left Logically Yet Rightly Creative” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

